« AnkstesnisTęsti »
Births, Marriages & Deaths. ARRIVALS.-Per P. & O. str. Gwalior,
on April 18th, Rev. and Mrs. Griffith John, of the L.M.S., Hankow.
AT Tai-yuen fu, province of Shensi,
Ar Shanghai, on April 7th, the wife of
Ar the British Consulate, Chinkiang, on the 21st February, EDWARD TOMALIN to LOUISE DESGRAY, both of the Inland Mission.
In the Presbyterian Church, Tungchow,
Ar the College Chapel, St. John's,
AT Tai-yuen fu, Province of Shensi, on
Ar Tungchow, on the 17th February,
Per str. Cyclops, for London, on April 16th, Rev. Canon and Mrs. McClatchio and three Misses McClatchie, of the C.M.S., Shanghai.
Per M. M. Co.'s str. Saghalien, for England, on April 19th, Rev. Miles Greenwood, of the S.P.G., Chefoo,
Per str. Powan, from Canton, on | $6.00 per hundred, for each quarter,
or $24.00 a year, on white paper. If 500 copies the price will be $4.50 a hundred for one quarter. If printed on brown paper they can be furnished for $5.30 or $3.50 instead of $6.00 and $4.50 per hundred, as above. Specimen copies will be sent on application. Address, stating how many copies are desired, and on what paper, with what "term," to G. F. Fitch, Mission Press.
April 20th, Rev. G. Piercy, and family, of the English Wesleyan Mission, Fatshan, for Europe.
Per str. Anchises, for England, on April 27th, Rev. and Mrs. Gilmour, of London Missionary Society, Peking.
SHANGHAI.-The Methodist Episcopal Mission, South, U.S.A., have lately sold the property on the French side of the Yang-king-pang, occupied since 1865 by the Rev. J. W. Lambuth, who has removed to the Woman's Union Mission House, outside the West Gato, occupied for many years by the Rev. E. H. Thomson. In consequence of this change the Missionary Prayer Meeting, so long held in Mr. Lambuth's chapel, has been obliged to seek new quarters. The Temperance Society have kindly lent their Hall for the purpose, where the meeting will in future be held.
We have recently seen a copy of Sunday School Lessons, in Chinese, of the International Series, with notes and comments, prepared by a committee of four missionaries in Peking, all of different Missions, which we have heard very highly spoken of, and which also commends itself to our own approval upon examination. We understand it is used in Tungchow-foo and other places with great acceptance. It is in Mandarin, and uses for God. It is proposed, if sufficient encouragement is met with, to republish the same at the Presbyterian Mission Press, using Shin instead of Chu. The present number, 3rd quarter of 1882, consists of 44 pp. If 300 copies are printed, the price will be
The last edition of the List of Missionaries, being exhausted, a fresh edition has been printed, corrected as far as possible up to the end of April. Copies can be had at the Presbyterian Mission Press, at 10c. per copy or twelve copies for $1. It is hoped a new List will be published at the commencement of the year with an additional Alphabetical List and other improvements. Any suggestions or corrections will be gratefully received up
to the end of November.
SOOCHOW.-The Southern Methodist Mission has, within the last few years, acquired several lots of land and erected a number of mission buildings in this city. The first house was bought in 1870, and was the residence of Rev. Dzau Tz-zeh (C. R. Marshall) till 1879, when Mr. Marshall being appointed to Shanghai, the house was rented out. The next piece of land purchased by this mission was bought in 1878, and a mission residence and a boarding school for boys' (now called Buffington Seminary in honor of the donor of the funds for its erection) were subsequently built on it. Something over a year ago a very eligible
lot for a church, native personage, day-school building, &c., was purchased near the center of the city on one of the main thoroughfares. Last year three other lots near the first-mentioned lot (occupied by the boys' school) were purchased, one for a hospital, one for two residences and a church, and one for a girls' school, (boarding), a women's hos
presided over by the Rev. O. Willits. The subject for the evenings discussion was entitled "Use of Money in Mission Work," and was introduced by the Chairman in a very thoughtful address. During the evening the subject was fully ventilated and a variety of views exchanged.
HANGCHOW.-The Half-yearly Meet
pital and ladies' residence. Alto-ings of the Mid-China C.M.S. Conference were held at Hangchow, on April 13th and 14th. On the following Sunday the members of the Conference met for a United Communion Service when a suitable address was delivered by Rev. J. D. Valentine. The Rev. J. D. and Mrs. Valentine, who have been over ten years labouring at Shauhing, leave for England on furlough on the 6th of May, per P. & O. steamer Gwalior. During their absence the Rev. J. H. and Mrs. Sedgwick will be in charge of the Mission Station.
gether two residences, a large handsome church, a school for boys and one for girls have been erected on these lots. A third residence (for the ladies) is now in course of erection. The local officials have been carefully notified in reference to all of these movements in buying land and building houses, and several proclamations have been received from time to time fully recognizing the right according to the treaty to buy land and build houses for the purpose of disseminating the Christian religion. The land in every case has been purchased in the name of one of the native Christians, and the deeds made to him. These have been recorded and stamped and then turned over to the trustees of the mission property. The officials have in each case been notified that the property, though bought in the name of a native, was for the use of the Protestant Church, and the money for the purchase was contributed by the members of the said Protestant Church, and these facts have been referred to and recognized in the proclamations that have been received from them.
PEKING. The April Meeting of the Peking Missionary Association was, in the absence of Rev. H. H. Lowry,
NINGPO.-In the early part of April, a temple near Dzing-bu-deo, twentyfour li south-west from Ningpo, was struck by lightning, burned to the ground and the idols consumed. A short time before an idol in another temple in the same region, was found stripped of its ornaments and the silver heart missing. Some of the heathen lay the latter at the door of native Christians, saying that no one else would have the audacity to do such a deed. However, there seems to be no great excitement over the matter and some incline to take from both incidents the lesson of the vanity of idols, expressing disgust with, and loss of faith in, their bu-sahs for their inability to protect themselves. At Kao-gyiao, twenty
Ave li west of Ningpo, a fire, after consuming a number of buildings, stopped at a Christian chapel. The chapel escaped with a scorching and some broken window panes. A strong west wind blowing against the fire coming from the east, saved the building. The circumstance made quite an impression upon the minds of some heathen, so that they
becoming, by success, more bold they tried to drive the missionaries from the field and appealed to the Consul, stating that Mr. Leaman obtained ground under false pretences, and asking that American missionaries should be ordered by him to deal only with the officials, which meant that no land would be given. Simultaneously the missionaries appealed to
felt that the God of the Christians, the Consul; who visited Nanking,
interviewed the Viceroy first and then the mandarins in charge of foreign affairs. In a calm, just and yet decided manner he informed them that he had not come to drive the missionaries away, but to see that justice was done them as well as to the Chinese. By his firmness and tact the matter has been amicably settled, and the mission given a larger piece of ground in a better situation than the disputed lot. This land is now nearly walled in and houses are being built. One of the most important points, perhaps, of the transaction was that the Consul obtained from the Viceroy the following instruction to the mandarins of the foreign office:—“ American missionaries are to be treated exactly as Chinese in the privilege of buying land. If you can persuade them to live in one place so much the better, but if they wish to live in more than one place they have the right to do so." Let us hope that the work in the future at Nanking may be exceedingly fruitful for not alone this mission, but others who shall avail themselves of the opportunity thus providentially opened by Consul Smithers.
must have, in this instance, directly interposed in behalf of his people. The audiences at that chapel were larger for a time.
CHINKIANG. Rev. S. and Mrs. Lewis, of the West China Mission, will remain at Chinkiang till early in the autumn, when they hope, together with the Supt., Dr. Wheeler, to start for their station in the Szechuen province. The latter gentleman, who was accompanied by Mr. Bagnall, has just returned from a tour of inspection, and reports having met with a friendly reception through
Mr. Bagnall has returned to his station at Wuchên, on the Poyang Lake. Rev. and Mrs. Wilcox are now settled at Yangehow, together with Dr. McFarlane.
NANKING.The thanks of the friends of mission work are due to Hon. E. J. Smithers, American Consul at Chinkiang for his action in the late trouble between the Presbyterian missionaries and the mandarins at Nanking. This difficulty had been vainly fought by the missionaries for eight years and still the officials with fair promises, which they never intended to fulfill, continued to successfully debar the advancement, TAI-YUEN Fr.-In March, 1881, a of the work. Finally last January branch of the "Chinese Religious
Tract Society" was formed for the | ing of tracts suitable for distribution province of Shansi, the following being its Rules :
at the Trennial Examinations in September this year, and to establish a permanent Tract Depot at Tai-yuen fu for the use of the missionaries. The following are the officers for 1882 :-President, Rev. T. Richard; Treasurer, Mr. R. J. Landale; Secretary, Dr. H. Schofield.
I. This Society is a branch of the "Chinese Religious Tract Society." It shall be termed "The Shansi Religious Tract Society."
II. The ojects of the Society are (1.) To aid in circulating Christian literature throughout the province. (2.) To raise subscriptions both from Chinese and foreigners for this purpose.
III. The officers of the Society shall be President, Treasurer, and Secretary; the Secretary shall have charge of the Society's
books and tracts.
IV. The Executive Committee shall con
sist of six; elected annually by the mem. bers of the Society, the opinion of every member of the Committee shall be ascer. tained, and four of them must agree before the publication of any book. Three members of the Committee are sufficient to transact all ordinary business.
V. Each Church-member who makes an
annual subscription of 2 taels or more to the funds of the Society, or who gives a month of his time annually to the work of
distribution, shall be considered a member of the Society and be eligible for the Executive Committee.
VI. The annual meeting of the Society shall be held at the beginning of the Chinese New Year, at which time the Annual Report shall be read and a special sermon preached.
VII. A copy of the Annual Report shall be forwarded to the "Chinese Religious Tract Society," Shanghai.
VIII. No addition to or alteration of the above rules can be made except at an Annual Meeting of the Society; six months' notice of such alteration or addition having
been given to the Secretary in writing, ho shall communicate such notice to each member of the Society.
During 1881, more than 30,000 tracts have been distributed in different parts of the province, by the members of the Society and various native helpers. To avoid having some places overstocked with tracts, while others are not visited for many years, the members of the Society aim at distributing a number (say 500 copies) in each Chow hien annually. Funds are greatly needed to extend the Society's operations during 1882, especially for the print
FOOCHOW.-The A.B.C.F.M. have completed their new school building here. It is solely for the use of girls, and is called "The American Girl's College." was formally dedicated on Thursday, March 23rd, in the presence of quite a large number of both foreigners and natives. It is capable of accommodating forty girls, and already has twenty, with every prospect of a steady increase.
Miss M. A. Foster, left here on the 8th April, for a trip to England. Rev. D. W. Chandler has also left for a trip home on account of failing health.
CANTON. The Annual Meeting of the Presbyterian Mission, Canton, was held in February, shortly after the Chinese New Year. The following items are taken from the Annual Report, which was then presented. The mission was reinforced, during the year, by the arrival of Rev. J. C. Thomson, M.D., and his wife, and Miss E. M. Butler, making the foreign force larger than ever before. There are now connected with the mission, five married missionaries with their wives; one unmarried missionary; and five single ladies; making sixteen in all, of whom one is at present in the United States. There are twenty-one native helpers; thirteen Bible women; and twenty