The Year of Decision 1846

Priekinis viršelis
Macmillan, 2000-10-05 - 538 psl.

Year of Decision 1846 tells many fascinating stories of the U.S. explorers who began the western march from the Mississippi to the Pacific, from Canada to the annexation of Texas, California, and the southwest lands from Mexico. It is the penultimate book of a trilogy which includes Across the Wide Missouri (for which DeVoto won both the Pulitzer and Bancroft prizes) and The Course of Empire. DeVoto's narrative covers the expanding Western frontier, the Mormons, the Donner party, Fremont's exploration, the Army of the West, and takes readers into Native American tribal life.

Ką žmonės sako - Rašyti recenziją

Naudotojų reitingai

5 žvaigždučių
4 žvaigždučių
3 žvaigždučių
2 žvaigždučių
1 žvaigždutė

LibraryThing Review

Vartotojo apžvalga  - DinadansFriend - LibraryThing

A good deal of focussed research underlay a lively account of the year in question. It presents the activities clearly, and is a good explanation of the intellectual and social underpinnings of the ... Skaityti visą apžvalgą

LibraryThing Review

Vartotojo apžvalga  - jmcilree - LibraryThing

Where to start? It's brilliant. It's engaging. It's unique. It's beautifully written. DeVoto is an inconoclast and loves knocking off the pedestal heroes like Zachary Taylor and John C. Fremont. And ... Skaityti visą apžvalgą

Kiti leidimai - Peržiūrėti viską

Apie autorių (2000)

Bernard DeVoto (1897-1955), winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, was a renowned scholar-historian. Stephen E. Ambrose is the author of Undaunted Courage and D-Day June, 1944 both critically-acclaimed bestsellers.

Bibliografinė informacija